God Is The Best Life Coach

More than I’ve ever realized, there are countless choices in a day. There are countless different voices demanding our attention, a sundry of different mindsets being imposed on us, and variety of morals and ideas brought to our attention every day. So it leaves us to ask, “Which is the one? Or does it matter? How can I be my most successful self?”

First, it’s useful to have a life coach. After looking around, I’ve seen–based on people’s happiness and success levels–God is the best life coach.

Second, we need to enroll ourselves in a course that God teaches. The scriptures, prayer, and the Spirit help us understand His instructions to us. They help us see how we can follow His counsel.

After searching the scriptures, it’s easy to see that the Lord has a pattern that He follows. That’s good. When something can become a habit, it’s easier for us to follow. In this pattern, the Lord calls prophets to direct and guide His people. He teaches them proper perspective, healthy thinking, what good and bad is, how to deal with tough life problems. He’s all about setting His children up for success. He promises to answer our prayers. He understands our questions. He has countless materials and “case studies” for us to examine. Namely, the scriptures. He has laid out the right way. He has shown us the path.

In these latter-days, the Lord will continue to do as He has always done (Hebrews 13:8). He will call a prophet, He will organize His people, and He will direct them. The Book of Mormon is a witness that God has organized His church on the earth today. Namely, The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. How can we know? We can study it out. Test the fruits. Best yet, we can look at the “study content” and ask The Instructor (aka our Heavenly Father) if this is where we need to be. Christ taught us there is one fold and He will gather everyone together.

Personally, I’m not done with my journey. I’m far from perfect. However, I have received my own answer from our loving Heavenly Father. He is at work today and He is speaking through living prophets who govern His church: The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. I’m striving to set proper goals and make definitive plans to reach the potential I know the Lord knows I can reach.

This week was a good one.

We had Elder Bennett of the 70’s come. Definitely worth mentioning. He spoke to our mission for over 2.5 hours, all based on the Spirit. He drove home charity and helping people keep commitments.

Our Filipino family is moving right along. They are reading the Book of Mormon with us and saying family prayer. The mother made the comment that “the Book of Mormon helps her understand Christ better.” As you might imagine, we were pretty pumped about that.

John is preparing for baptism this next week.

Our favorite surgeon–Anna–came to church with the Reynolds and is also reading the Book of Mormon. One of the most charitable and busiest people I’ve ever met, she is a light to all that meet her.

I’m grateful for what the Lord has given me. I don’t pretend to understand it all. I’m just grateful for the examples He’s placed in my life. I need all the help I can to learn!

I love the Lord and I love this work.

Elder McConkie

Leave a comment