People Tend To Grow In The Light In Which We ‘Place’ Them

 

Carl Catching Clams

Carl catching clams

Goodbye to Elder Johnson

Elder Johnson’s last P-day. He finishes his mission this Wednesday.

This last week has been a great one! We’ve been going around saying goodbye to everyone with Elder Johnson.

We had our Branch Clam Bake on Saturday, where Carl brought hundreds of clams he caught (and we helped him prepare) and we all ate them.

That same night we had a baptism for the branch (one of the Elder’s investigators) and it was so incredible to see!  

We had a lesson this last week with a Jamaican named Omar. We brought a member out with us named Isaac. We taught this man the Plan of Salvation and during the lesson I used my hands to represent the body and the spirit and, for the rest of the lesson, whenever he talked about the body, he would grab the hand I used to represent the body and use it to make a point. As well, all his questions were statements. Man, that was a fun lesson! 🙂 

Yesterday I gave a talk in church, drawing from Elder Whitney L. Clayton‘s “Choose to Believe“. I hadn’t had a lot of time to prepare, so I was a little nervous. As I sat in sacrament meeting, I began to mentally organize my thoughts, but the Spirit brought to mind D&C 84:85. As I sat there, I looked at the pulpit and I saw myself opening a book during my talk. Immediately I thought to find a set of scriptures, then I thought “what other book could I grab?” The hymn book came to mind, so I grabbed on, opened it, and I found myself at hymn 89: “The Lord is My Light“, verse 2”. Then Matthew 5:14-16 came to mind and I turned to that. I sat in my chair for the next few minutes, nervous but deciding to trust the Spirit. I got up to give my talk and The Spirit directed me. My message was organized and coherent and I felt very natural as I gave a talk that I had not prepared. That strengthened my testimony in the power that the Lord gives to his servants and the power of prayer. 🙂

Finally, I have news about transfers. I got a call from President on Friday, AND…..I’m training! Funny story, so when I got the call I was on exchanges with Elder Sirrine. When I saw the phone said President, my first thought was “Oh, it’s for Elder Sirrine,” so I tried to hand him the phone. When he didn’t take it and just smiled, my next thought was “Oh wait, this is my phone,” and I started to take the phone back. Then I realized “OH WAIT! It’s PRESIDENT and transfers are NEXT WEEK!” I tried to hand the phone to Elder Sirrine again because I realized what that meant and I was super surprised. He just laughed and I answered the phone. Sure enough, President told me I would be training and asked me to come in to Rego Park (the mission office, approximately a 2 hour drive) the next day. I accepted and the meeting the next day went very well. 

The work is moving forward out here and it is good to see. 🙂 I am a little overwhelmed at what has been placed on my plate, but I know the Lord will strengthen me and make up for my weaknesses. I hope that I will be able to lift him up.
Pam and Ron

Ron and Pam, two of the great people Elder McConkie has been blessed to serve.

I’m not sure if I have shared this before, but I have determined that for the rest of my mission, each new companionship or each new area is the best one I have ever had, seeing as I will be the best I’ve ever been. So I’ve already determined that this next companion will be the best one I have had yet, and as we see, people tend to grow in the light that we place them in.
I love you all! I love hearing from you! I share some of the things you send me with those we teach and they love it! 🙂 You are all incredible! Remember, if we are following God, we are always worthy of the blessings of the fruits of the Spirit, which are “love, joy, peace, long-suffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance.” (Galatians 5:22-23).
We may not know where our next step will lead, but we can always know that if we are worthy of the companionship of the Spirit, then He will walk with us each step of the way. Often times, we want our problems solved with grand miracles. This can cause us to miss the greatest miracle of all: God coaching us through our life as we take each step, giving us the Atonement to help us learn and change. We mustn’t forget that our purpose here is to 1) gain a body, 2) learn of God, and 3) learn to follow God. 
Will you all send me a recent experience of how you have seen God’s hand in your life?
Love,
Elder McConkie
Leave a Reply

